NeFCA Senior Career Award 2021

The NeFCA  Senior Career Award 2021 will be presented at the online Etmaal van de Communicatiewetenschap (4-5 February 2021).

The Netherlands–Flanders Communication Association (NeFCA) aims to advance the scholarly study of communication by encouraging and facilitating excellence in academic research and the creation of an academic community of communication scholars in The Netherlands and Flanders.

The NeFCA Senior Career Award honors a lifetime of scholarly achievement in communication studies. The award recognizes scholars who have shown substantive and quantifiable contributions, scientific as well as societal, to the field of communication studies, through for instance multiple (refereed) publications, professional or public publications, presentations, invited speeches, leadership and mentorship, expert panelist, memberships of committees and/or other contributions with scientific and societal impact.

The award is open to scholars from different backgrounds who are currently employed at a Flemish or Dutch university or university college. NeFCA-membership is required.

Self-nominations are welcomed, as well as the nomination of others. All nominations will be handled confidentially. Nominators should be a member of NeFCA.

Nominators must submit:

  1. An updated CV of the nominee, including a list of publications and relevant body of work and contributions
  2. A nomination letter, not to exceed two pages, which describes the accomplishments of the candidate and demonstrates the influence and impact of the body of work of the nominee in the field of communication research
  3. A copy of the favorite publication by the nominee
  4. A list of career highlights, including university service as well as community service activities

The NeFCA Senior Career Award jury is chaired by Prof. Dr. Claes de Vreese (University of Amsterdam). The other members of the jury are Prof. Dr. Hilde Van den Bulck (University of Antwerp/Drexel University), dr. Gertjan Willems (University of Antwerp), dr. Mariska Kleemans (Radboud University), and dr. Ruud Jacobs (University of Twente).

All nomination documents should be emailed to jury chair Prof. Dr. Claes de Vreese, no later than Monday 14 December, 9.00 AM.

Any questions about the award or the nomination process should be directed to NeFCA’s vice-president dr. Margot van der Goot.